Reads

april reads

This month, I read 6 books and here they are with my favorite….

All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker

“Empathy is defined this way, ” the ability to share and understand the feelings of another.” … we do this so we are not alone  as we walk slowly to our death  Empathy is at the very core of our humanity. Life is pain without it.”

IM OBSESSED WITH THIS BOOK. ok now that that’s out of the way let me try to tell you why and convince you to get it asap. it  is a mix of true crime with futuristic medicine, sad stories, mystery and just overall it’s so damn hard to put down once you get into it. The end is a real shocker (and I’m usually pretty good at figuring out what’s going to happen).

It’ll leave you thinking one thing, “if I could erase memories from my past, would I?”

Modern Romance by Aziz Ansari

Hilariously written but also so easy to connect with, especially if you are completely confused with modern dating

Dreamology by Lucy Keating ♥

“It surprises me, how a small gesture can feel so very big. How sometimes you don’t realize the nervousness or sadness you were holding deep inside until the touch of someone you love lets it all out of you, like your entire body is exhaling.”

A sweet little YA novel, with easy to love characters and an interesting thought – what if the people we dream of are somewhere out there, even if we’ve never met them in real life?

Good As Gone by Amy Gentry

“If there is something missing – if I am afraid to love her quite as much as before – it is only because the potential for love feels so big and so intense that I fear I will disappear in the expression of it, that it will blow my skin away like clouds and I will be nothin.”

A sad and heart-wrenching book about a kidnapping (or was it?) and a family’s attempt to move forward. But also, a very well written book that I simply couldn’t put down.

Only Ever Yours by Louise O’Neill

Summary: Basically, it’s a story about a dystopian society where women are created simply for the enjoyment of men. Interesting idea but overall seemed like a wanna-be Handmaiden’s Tale (a classic). I rarely make myself finish reading a book I don’t love, but I genuinely was waiting for a better ending than I expected. Didn’t happen. It’s an easy read, and maybe something for a younger audience.

15th Affair by James Patterson

A easy to read and follow along murder mystery. I enjoyed some of the characters, and hated other… which may or may not be a good thing, depends on the reader. The story itself was interesting and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good “lets solve these murders” story.

 

 

Leave a Reply

